Pacific Island -


The Republic of Vanuatu is an Island nation located in the South Pacific Ocean.

It was named New Hebrides during its Colonial Period.

Many inhabitants of Vanuatu have been inhabited for thousands of years, (current population is around 250,000). The oldest Archeological evidence found dates to 2000 BC.

Most of the Islands are Mountainous and of Volcanic origin, and have a tropical and sub-tropical climate. The nation's largest towns are the Capital Port Villa, which is situated in Efate, and Luganville in Espirito Santo. There are several active volcanoes, including Yasur on the Island of Tanna - one of the world's most accessible volcanoes - as well as several underwater ones.

Vanuatu is also home to one of the World's Last Tribal Societies, Yakel Tribe, which we had the opportunity to meet. The country is also home of the Land Diving Ritual, which we had the chance to witness in the Pentecost Island. These are a few of our wonderful experiences.

Check out my gallery and be ready to be transported with every click...



 © 2019 by Maria Ligaya

Travel Photography

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon